The Brothers Karamazov
by Fyodor Dostoyevsky
Translated by Constance Garnett

Table of Contents

    Book I
    The History of a Family

  1. Fyodor Pavlovitch Karamazov
  2. He Gets Rid of His Eldest Son
  3. The Second Marriage and the Second Family
  4. The Third Son, Alyosha
  5. Elders

    Book II
    An Unfortunate Gathering

  1. They Arrive at the Monastery
  2. The Old Buffoon
  3. Peasant Women Who Have Faith
  4. A Lady of Little Faith
  5. So Be It! So Be It!
  6. Why Is Such a Man Alive?
  7. A Young Man Bent on a Career
  8. The Scandalous Scene

    Book III
    The Sensualists

  1. In the Servants’ Quarters
  2. Lizaveta
  3. The Confession of a Passionate Heart — in Verse
  4. The Confession of a Passionate Heart — In Anecdote
  5. The Confession of a Passionate Heart — “Heels Up”
  6. Smerdyakov
  7. The Controversy
  8. Over the Brandy
  9. The Sensualists
  10. Both Together
  11. Another Reputation Ruined

    Book IV

  1. Father Ferapont
  2. At His Father’s
  3. A Meeting with the Schoolboys
  4. At the Hohlakovs’
  5. A Laceration in the Drawing-Room
  6. A Laceration in the Cottage
  7. And in the Open Air

    Book V
    Pro and Contra

  1. The Engagement
  2. Smerdyakov with a Guitar
  3. The Brothers Make Friends
  4. Rebellion
  5. The Grand Inquisitor
  6. For Awhile a Very Obscure One
  7. “It’s Always Worth While Speaking to a Clever Man”

    Book VI
    The Russian Monk

  1. Father Zossima and His Visitors
  2. Notes on the Life of the Deceased Priest and Monk, the Elder Zossima, Taken from His Own Words by Alexey Fyodorovitch Karamazov
  3. Conversations and Exhortations of Father Zossima

    Book VII

  1. The Breath of Corruption
  2. A Critical Moment
  3. An Onion
  4. Cana of Galilee

    Book VIII

  1. Kuzma Samsonov
  2. Lyagavy
  3. Gold Mines
  4. In the Dark
  5. A Sudden Resolution
  6. “I Am Coming, Too!”
  7. The First and Rightful Lover
  8. Delirium

    Book IX
    The Preliminary Investigation

  1. The Beginning of Perhotin’s Official Career
  2. The Alarm
  3. The Sufferings of a Soul
  4. The Second Ordeal
  5. The Third Ordeal
  6. The Prosecutor Catches Mitya
  7. Mitya’s Great Secret Received with Hisses
  8. The Evidences of the Witnesses. The Babe
  9. They Carry Mitya Away

    Book X
    The Boys

  1. Kolya Krassotkin
  2. Children
  3. The Schoolboy
  4. The Lost Dog
  5. By Ilusha’s Bedside
  6. Precocity
  7. Ilusha

    Book XI

  1. At Grushenka’s
  2. The Injured Foot
  3. A Little Demon
  4. A Hymn and a Secret
  5. Not You, Not You!
  6. The First Interview with Smerdyakov
  7. The Second Visit to Smerdyakov
  8. The Third and Last Interview with Smerdyakov
  9. The Devil. Ivan’s Nightmare
  10. “It Was He Who Said That”

    Book XII
    A Judicial Error

  1. The Fatal Day
  2. Dangerous Witnesses
  3. The Medical Experts and a Pound of Nuts
  4. Fortune Smiles on Mitya
  5. A Sudden Catastrophe
  6. The Prosecutor’s Speech. Sketches of Character
  7. An Historical Survey
  8. A Treatise on Smerdyakov
  9. The Galloping Troika. The End of the Prosecutor’s Speech
  10. There Was No Money. There Was No Robbery
  11. And There Was No Murder Either
  12. A Corrupter of Thought
  13. The Peasants Stand Firm


  1. Plans for Mitya’s Escape
  2. For a Moment the Lie Becomes Truth
  3. Ilusha’s Funeral. The Speech at the Stone